This charming Edwardian Cottage was built in 1902 for the Howays, a notable New Westminster family. Having been used as an illegal “grow-op”, the cottage was vacant, badly run-down and under threat of demolition within the multi-family zoning of its surrounding area. Through a Heritage Revitalization Agreement (HRA) the Howay Cottage was saved and relocated to the rear of a corner property in the historic Queen’s Park neighbourhood of New Westminster. The exterior was restored including new cedar shingles on the unusual and elegant “bell-cast” or splayed, hipped roof. New elements to the house included a 450 square foot sensitive addition, and period light fixtures and doors.